top of page

LISTEN: Greta Van Fleet Unveil "Meeting The Master"

Grammy-winning rock band Greta Van Fleet’s much anticipated third studio album Starcatcher is set for release July 21 on Lava/Republic Records; pre-save/pre-order HERE. The album’s first single “Meeting The Master” debuts today; listen HERE.

"Meeting The Master" comes to us as the follow-up to GVF's sophomore album - 2021's The Battle At Garden's Gate - that featured tracks such as "My Way, Soon", "Heat Above", "Light My Love" and more. The track feels like a continuation from TBAGG as it begins with soft acoustics from guitarist Jake Kiszka and illuminating vocals from Josh Kiszka. As the track progresses, the vocals rise and vibes ascend as you're brought into a higher state of being.

“‘Meeting The Master’ peers into an esoteric world heeded by the word of a wise teacher. Sung in the voice of a devout believer, and eventual group exclamation, the song details the love these fervent followers have for their teacher and their firm belief in his vision. It’s an exotic spiritual journey. A dark comedy that inevitably ends in chaos.”

Starcatcher was written and recorded by the band—lead singer Josh Kizka, guitarist Jake Kizka, bassist/keyboardist Sam Kizska and drummer Danny Wagner—alongside Grammy-winning producer Dave Cobb (Chris Stapleton, Brandi Carlile). Recorded at the legendary RCA Studios in Nashville, the band utilized the large recording room to capture the pure energy of their world-renowned live performances.

“We didn’t really have to force or be intense about writing, because everything that happened was very instinctual,” Jake says. “If anything, the record is our perspective and sums up where we are as a group and individually as musicians.

Throughout the ten-song collection, the band explores the duality of fantasy versus reality and the contrast between light and darkness. “We had this idea that we wanted to tell these stories to build a universe,” says Wagner. “We wanted to introduce characters and motifs and these ideas that would come about here and there throughout our careers through this world.”

The band took multiple concepts from critically acclaimed sophomore album The Battle at Garden’s Gate and brought them into Starcatcher, although Sam’s take on the new record’s big ideas hint instead at new beginnings. “When I imagine the world of Starcatcher, I think of the cosmos,” he says. “It makes me ask a lot of questions, like ‘Where did we come from?’ or ‘What are we doing here?’ But it’s also questions like, ‘What is this consciousness that we have, and where did it come from?’”

Greta Van Fleet is best known for their renowned live performances, selling over one million tickets worldwide. They sold out their entire 2022 arena tour, holding a special energy between them and their devoted fans. With Starcatcher the band aims to capture that energy in the recording studio.

GRETA VAN FLEET - Starcatcher Track List:

1. Fate Of The Faithful

2. Waited All Your Life

3. The Falling Sky

4. Sacred The Thread

5. Runway Blues

6. The Indigo Streak

7. Frozen Light

8. The Archer

9. Meeting The Master

10. Farewell For Now

Listen to Greta Van Fleet's music, check out show dates + keep up with them below!


50 views0 comments


bottom of page